16 comments on “RPG Unboxing and Contest – 03/15/2011

  1. hey Alfred… My favorite Role Playing Game would be Dungeons and Dragons… I a fairly new to the game and only had 2-3 sessions of it (they can last a long time) I am currently a Half Orc/Monk who is out to revenge his mothers death while traveling with a party in quests… Why I like this game is the creativity with customizing my characters and interacting with the DM (who plays his role quite well) the game is a lot of fun and a great way to pass a few hours for sure… I hope this is suffice enough for a answer… and keep up the good work Alfred… great blog and channel you got going!

  2. Great video!

    As for my favorite RPG, I would choose Final Fantasy VI. (**SPOILERS**)

    There are so many moments that sand out for me in this game. Meeting Tera at the beginning as a imperial slave, then seeing as she meets her family and confronts her heritage. Locke and his relationship with Celes, the brothers Edgar and Sabin, Kefka poisoning Cyan’s family, General Lee, and the final confrontation with Kefka. The lists of memorable moments goes on and on.

    Anyway really enjoy the channel, and look forward to future videos.

  3. Great unboxing video!

    There are so many great RPGs, but my favorite is probably Dungeons & Dragons, the old Red Box set. Despite all the other systems I’ve played, I think that the old Basic Set is both complex enough to be interesting and simple enough to be whatever its players need it to be. Honestly, though, the best RPG is the one you’re playing and having fun with.

  4. G’day Alfred.

    My favourite rpg these days is Castles & Crusades.
    I’m a gamer who started back with the old 0e basic D&D box sets, moved onto 1e D&D & then 2e.

    Had so many great times playing with my brother when we were kids and gaming has remained a bond between is throughout all our ups and downs.

    We didn’t always understand all the rules growing up but all the gaming goodness and arcane references in the 1eDMG really broadened our horizons. So I always loved the feel and flavour of 1e D&D.

    Unfortunately it is an at times confusing and almost unworkable system in some respects (Bard class, psionics etc). Which is why I fell in love with C&C. It captures the spirit of 1e, improves and streamlines it and adds a few unique twists of its own.

    So C&C takes me back to those days I spent with my brother giggles at the ladies of the night tables and trying to figure out what the hell an attack matrix was in the old 1eDMG when we were kids, but now I can finally understand all the rules!

    For that reason my favourite RPG is C&C.

  5. I’d have to say my favorite RPG is a tie between Castles & Crusades and AD&D.

    Both systems, for me, are filled with great memories of me and my friends enjoying many good times. Both of these systems are not so rule intensive that it detracts from the purpose of the game–enjoyment with one’s buddies. I’ve been gaming since 1980 and many of the inside jokes that we have come directly from our time role playing. We still drop lines from our games in dinner conversations, like: “Go ahead and shot an arrow at that flying mummy. What could possibly happen?” Since I’ve been married, the Ring of DM Control is often referenced by my friends in an attempt to influence the game.

    Anyway, there’s my two cents worth. By the way, thanks for posting over on the Troll Lord forum boards. Welcome to the Crusades!

  6. My favorite is Fudge, although for games reminiscent of my old AD&D campaigns, I’m getting into C&C. I like my gaming fluid, where it’s easy for the GM to adjudicate both consistantly and on the fly, and the rules don’t get bogged down in minutia. Fudge being a metasystem, the rules can be tailored for most styles or genres or themes, but I almost always use it in a rules-light fashion. C&C’s SIEGE seems to work nicely in that respect.

  7. I’ve recently returned to gaming after a 20 year absence, but one of my all time favorite games is Call of Cthulhu. I just picked up the 6th edition rules over Christmas and was happy to see that it is the same game that I remembered and loved.

    What I always liked about CoC’s Basic Role Playing system is that it was easy to grasp for new players. Skill’s are percentile based with a role under on 2d10. When a new character looked at their sheet and saw that they had Archeology at 70%, they could instantly grasp what that meant.

    There are complaints that there is a high “whiff” factor in Call of Cthulhu because of percentile distributions and there is something to that, but at the same time that feeling of never being absolutely sure you can do something lends itself to the overall horror of the tales.

    I remember playing this game as a kid and loving the creepy stories that we were engaged in. Finding maps and playing with artifacts. The old boxed adventures had all sorts of wonderful handouts that continue on, at least in the culture of the game’s players, that really helped in game immersion.

    If you are interested in the game, definitely head over to the Yog-Sothoth online community (http://yog-sothoth.com). They have a ton of resources on their site and in their forums for Keepers and Players alike. They also have some great actual play recordings and an awesome podcast to get you in the feel of the game and keep you up to date on what’s out there for it.

  8. My favorite RPG remains the first one I ever encountered: D&D Basic Boxed Set (1981 version). My mom bought it for my dad as a Christmas gift. But he didn’t “get it” and it sat on a shelf for a year or two before I opened it up and, well, the rest is history…

    I’ll admit there is a bit of nostalgia in my enthusiasm for this edition — lots of fond memories encountering strange creatures for the first time and such. But I’ve played it a number of times recently and it still holds up well — and it’s so easy to quickly pick up and play that it’s a great go-to game when nothing major is planned for the evening.

    And now I’m introducing RPGs to my kids using D&D Basic. The easy to understand rules makes it simple for them digest — and they’re diving in with imagination, making for interesting sessions. (My kids can come up with things that I never would have imagined — although not all of their ideas are always sound, they’re usually interesting.)

    I enjoy more complex games at times (D&D 3.5e, GURPS, Cortex), but there will always be room on my shelf and a place at my table for the one that started it all for me: D&D Basic (and the Expert expansion).

  9. My favorite game in the world is Castles & Crusades. I began this hobby adventure back in 1987 by playing Mentzer’s Basic Dungeons & Dragons. Since then, I have moved through all of the iterations of D&D with the exception of 4E. Castles & Crusades just does it for me. C&C takes the awesome aspects of the 3E system, and stips out the bloat, and gets right to the meat of the game. C&C feels like old-school Dungeon & Dragons, only better, in almost every fashion. The ease of C&C to run makes the Castle Keeper’s (or GM/DM if you will) job that much easiler. Less time worrying about detailed rules, and more time actually playing or working on the adventure. For players, there is no longer a need to carry a library of .pdfs or dead trees with you. Just a book or two and you have the whole C&C game right with you. Another great aspect of C&C is the adaptability. The core mechanic of C&C gives me the flexibility to run a game of C&C as I want, with a lot of detailed skills or with none at all. If I want to use a sub-rules system out of another game, C&C makes it very easy to drop it into the game without mucking up the system. C&C is a game tweeker’s dream. All of that being said, C&C is still perfect fantasy roleplaying right “of the box” if you will. Just open up the Player’s Handbook, read the first few pages and you are off and creating a character in 15 mins or less.

    C&C is my 11 out of 10 RPG.

    ~O

  10. My favorite RPG is Castles & Crusades.

    I, myself, got introduced to RPGs with OD&D – then after one session, discovered the AD&D 1e books had just come out…and learned/played/DMed that ever since. Saw no need for 2e (lessee, more money for less/inferior product and a heavy sack-o-rules to carry around? uh. no). 3rd edition I checked out in a game store when it first came out and (to me) that was even worse. 4th edition I’ve looked at and I’ve better things to do.

    My opinion: C&C has enough rules to adjudicate role play while allowing free reign to my imagination — later editions’ attempts to cover everything and be everything to everybody stifles that imagination.

    I see it pretty much like old movies (and, yes, some current/recent ones, but in the minority) where they didn’t have to spell everything out, expecting the audience to be smart enough to figure things out from anecdote, nuances, etc, whereas movies (and most TV) these days spoon-feed to audiences who simply lie back passively and consume.

    In a nutshell (for me): Castles & Crusades (old-school) = active participation in creating the game and characters by playing; Newer-versions = Here, we’ll tell you what you can and can’t do/be/play.

    Newer versions = the more rules/”choices” is actually less

  11. I do so enjoy the feeling of opening a new box of gaming goodness. It almost rivals (but not quite) the old days of walking to the hobby store to get the one new D&D module that arrived at the store.

    My favorite is certainly D&D. I played now for over thirty years and through all editions. It was the advent of the 4th edition and Pathfinder that drew in my 12 year old son and thus me back in the game.

    As most d&ders do we wax nostalgic about the old days. Upon hearing this my son responded, “Dad, I want to play the way you guys did.” As a result I taught him old school D&D. He now prefers old school over the new edition and those books just collect dust while the ones from the 1980’s see the light of day once again.

    I had the opportunity to play with my son and the Troll Lords at Trollcon East. After playing my son stated, “Dad this was pretty cool, it plays like old school D&D.

    So why do I prefer old school D&D? It teaches skills such as creative thinking, problem solving, and teamwork, but most of it continues to transcend generations. Who would have thought a 12 year old could sit down and game with 40+ year olds and have a good time.

  12. My favorite game is Advanced Dungeons & Dragons 2e. Mainly because it is the first PnP RPG that I actually knew how to play and is the game I spent the most time playing and running. When I was 13, my dad sent me a Basic D&D set. Me and a friend used to play around pretending we knew how to play it for about a year or so. I played a level 20 vampiric wererat giant, which shouldn’t of even existed. When I entered highschool, it just so happened that just about every person I befriended was into AD&D 2e. So, even tho I didn’t even know how to play Basic, I told them I all knew how to play Advanced. I borrowed a PHB from one of them who no longer played (He was into White Wolf stuff and always complained about D&D being to combat oriented), and did some massive studying. The book was very easy to follow, so the following Saturday I met up with my friends and McDonalds and rolled up a Thief. We played for a couple hours, and I was hooked, I came back the following weekends. The same friend who loaned me the PHB, than loaned me a AD&D 1e PHB. After reading it, I decided to re-roll as an Assassin. The Assassin is a great roleplaying class if you play it right. I still put thief on my sheet, but the DM knew I was an Assassin, but the players didn’t. I would pass a note back and forth to the DM when I wanted to do Assassin like stuff. This was the first time, me and my friends played with player conflict. I assassinated 2 of my fellow players, and even tho they were pissed, they were also intrigued by the idea. The DM stopped running that game the following week, and it was suppose to pass to another player. But he said he needed more time to plan. So I stepped up, and said I’d run it. I had no idea how to run a game, but the following weekend I showed up with a Zanzar’s Dungeon adventure and map (from the Basic D&D set) and I just wung it. I stuck closely to the DM’s option rule, till I could figure out what was going on. After the dungeon was complete, I needed ideas to keep the game going. I started throwing everything I liked into the game; Mortal Kombat, Zelda, Final Fantasy, stuff from the MUD I was playing, and somehow it worked. The players were digging it. Friends of friends started showing up to get into the game. The group was 11-13 strong at all times. I would spend time with each player on the side during the week, for anything special they wanted to do outside the group. And that’s were more player conflict came in. Players were trying to kill each other left and right. One of the younger kids (he was like 10) was being targeted the most. So I gave him a magic elven chainmail of friendly protection (made it up), so they couldn’t attack him. Eventually, things started getting crazier. One of the players rerolled his character as a custom race he created. It was called a Medadrone. He was liquid metal, recharged by sucking life out of the earth, and had a backpack that ran on dirt. My brother, who had joined the group had a an Elven Thief named Link. I made him a king, and he had a mechanical castle that could burrow in dirt (like the castle from Final Fantasy VI). The player who loaned me the PHBs ended up joining the group as an inventor (another created class). He had all kinds of crazy guns and a mech. It was going good, the rules allowed for things such as this, being non-restrictive. I didn’t use any magical items from the books (as I didn’t have any), but I did use monsters from a manual that someone brought with. I usually just used the monster idea and came up with my own stats as I didn’t want to read while running the game. I was also handing out levels like crazy, I didn’t bother calculating it, I ended up out most of it for roleplaying. The players were now around level 30, and I made the Medadrone go on a quest to become human. He succeeded and became the god of Mars (which was populated by dinosaurs). Another player was playing another created class, he called a Royal Guard. It was a fighter with d12 HD and paladins XP requirements. I ended up making him the guard of the god of Mars. As they raised in levels I had to create variants of monsters to face them. Tarrasque Lord was used a lot. The second to last session of this game, they fought a pack of them. I used a lot of demons and devils and such also. The game finally ended after about a year and a half, where they killed Satan. We than stopped playing at McDonalds and started playing at a friends house. We had many more games for years to come, I only ran one more tho. It was on a created world, that was all water. One of the players played a sea cavalier and slammed into boats. We would order these huge greasy hungry howies subs and drinks mountain dues and yell at each other for interrupting the DM. It was great, than chicks came into the picture and we went are separate ways. Years later I stumbled upon Castles & Crusades, and I’m digging it. It’s very compatible with AD&D 2e with a more modern approach. I’ve yet to actually play a game of it, as I only have PDFs. But I guess I’d have to say, it is my new favorite RPG.

  13. For me, my favorite game is a tie between Original Dungeons & Dragons (white box) and Classic Traveller. With Original Dungeons & Dragons the game was easily customizable to my tastes, far more so than Advanced Dungeons & Dragons. In fact the version of the OD&D rules I play borrows from the later rule sets by Moldvay and Cook, as well as a few bits from Advanced Dungeons & Dragons and even d20. If I have a fantasy itch that needs scratching, Dungeons & Dragons is it.

    Now, I mentioned earlier that I have two favorites: Original Dungeons & Dragons and Classic Traveller. Traveller scratches my science-fiction itch. But why I like Traveller has to do with the fact that it is a toolbox for playing in any pre-Star Wars science-fiction setting. Plus the sub-systems within the game are actually fun to use for ideas. Lastly, Traveller also has options for solitaire play, which was a bit of a novelty at the time. The only other game I know of that utilized a solitaire option was Tunnels & Trolls, and it did so through the use of Choose Your Own Adventure-style quests. The solitaire aspect is ideal for me, since there are few Traveller players in my area.

  14. My favorite RPG is Mutant Chronicles: Doomtroopers, dungeons and dragons would be second. This is the first one that i started playing, as i got it for a christmas present one year. I really liked the characters and the different corporations. Having the actual plastic figures to move around on the game was an awesome visual and i enjoyed playing it with my friends and family. I liked it so much i later bought the 3 novels based on it and the game on SNES.

  15. Pingback: RPG Unboxing 03/17/2011 | The Alfred Effect

  16. Pingback: Favorite RPG Contest Winner | The Alfred Effect

Comments are closed.